About The Sumner County Election Commission

Duties of the Sumner County Election Commission

The Sumner County Election Commission conducts all elections; city, county, state and federal. State election laws are the foundation of all administrative election procedures in the State of Tennessee.

Voter registration, candidate qualifications, petitions for offices, legal notices, early voting, and Election Day voting are some of the major responsibilities the Election Commission oversees.

Under state law, each county has a five member election commission who are appointed by the State Election Commission.

The Sumner County Election Commission sets its regular meetings at 4:00 PM (local time) at the Sumner County Administration Building, Room 106, Gallatin,Tennessee on the 2nd Tuesday of the month.  If the date falls on a county recognized holiday, the meeting will be held on the following date at the same time.

Sumner County Election Commission

M. Allen Ehmling, Chairman
Patricia Collins, Secretary

J. Michael Fussell, Member
Jeffery B. Hulsey, Member

Denise D. Shepherd, Member

Lori D. Atchley, Administrator of Elections

The Sumner County Election Commission Mission Statement is to conduct accurate, secure, fair and accessible elections with the highest level of
professionalism and integrity; to protect the will of the people and democracy as a concept and form of government; to provide a comprehensive
and uniform election procedure; and to encourage maximum citizen participatio in the electoral process.